Training

The Advocate’s Role in the Multidisciplinary Response to Child Abuse

The Advocate’s Role in the Multidisciplinary Response to Child Abuse

 
Start Date (Cohort #4): December 1, 2021
Start Date (Cohort #5): February 16, 2022
Start Date (Cohort #6): May 11, 2022
Start Date (Cohort #7): Accepting applications in August 2022

Format:
Virtual
Description

In collaboration with the Regional Children’s Advocacy Centers, this training is intended to fulfill the 24.0 hours of core training for victim advocates required in the National Children’s Alliance Standards for Accredited Members. This training covers the nine competencies set forth in those standards and will include evaluation of an increase in skills and knowledge in those attending the training.


Targeted Audience

This training is appropriate for all advocates that take part in providing the constellation of services to children that are served by a children’s advocacy center (CAC) across the country including victim advocates employed by the CAC, working at a partnering District Attorney’s office, and/or staff of a community-based organization.


Training Facilitators
      • Salli Kerr, Training Specialist – WRCAC
      • Sara Lee, MS, Program Manager – MRCAC
      • Michele Mullen, LCSW, Training Specialist – NRCAC
Learning Objectives 

As a result of this training, participants will:

    1. Demonstrate an increased knowledge of the unique role of victim advocates in responding to the needs of children and families;
    2. Understand strategies to engage and empower supportive caregivers in their own healing and support of child maltreatment/abuse victims; and
    3. Increase understanding of multi-disciplinary team dynamics and implications for victim advocates as integral and active team members

Schedule

This course includes four 5 hour sessions of live instruction via Zoom and approximately 4 hours of independent pre/post work to complete 24.0 hours total of instruction. The cohorts will be offered four times annually with two time choices due to the national audience and different time zones.

Cohort #4 | Applications closed
Sessions will occur Wednesday and Thursday: 9:00am-3:00pm PT | 10:00am-4:00pm MT | 11:00am-4:00pm CT | 12:00am-6:00pm ET

      • Session 1: December 1, 2021
      • Session 2: December 2, 2021
      • Session 3: December 8, 2021
      • Session 4: December 9, 2021

Cohort #5 | Applications closed
Sessions will occur Wednesday and Thursday: 7:00am-1:00pm PT | 8:00am-2:00pm MT| 9:00am-3:00pm CT | 10:00am-4:00pm ET

      • Session 1: February 16, 2022
      • Session 2: February 17, 2022
      • Session 3: February 23, 2022
      • Session 4: February 24, 2022

Cohort #6 | Applications closed
Sessions will occur Wednesday and Thursday: 9:00am-3:00pm PT | 10:00am-4:00pm MT | 11:00am-5:00pm CT | 12:00am-6:00pm ET

      • Session 1: May 11, 2022
      • Session 2: May 12, 2022
      • Session 3: May 18, 2022
      • Session 4: May 19, 2022

Cohort #7 | Accepting applications August 2022
Sessions will occur Wednesday and Thursday: 7:00am-1:00pm PT | 8:00am-2:00pm MT| 9:00am-3:00pm CT | 10:00am-4:00pm ET

      • Session 1: September 14, 2022
      • Session 2: September 15, 2022
      • Session 3: September 21, 2022
      • Session 4: September 22, 2022
How to Apply
We are not currently accepting applications at this time. To be notified when applications open for upcoming cohorts, please join our mailing list. If you are located outside the western region, please subscribe to your Regional Children’s Advocacy Center’s Mailing List to be notified when applications open.
 
Applicants for the May cohort will be notified if they are accepted by April 28, 2022. Please note, space is limited, therefore, registration for this training does not guarantee acceptance into this cohort.
 
Questions?

Contact Kelsey Roberts at kroberts2@rchsd.org

To receive a notification when applications open for this training, please join our mailing list.