WRCAC Telemental Health Resource Center

About Us

History

In September 2018, the Western Regional Children’s Advocacy Center (WRCAC), a program of the Chadwick Center for Children and Families at Rady Children’s Hospital-San Diego (RCHSD), convened 35 professionals for a 1.5-day forum to address the challenges rural and frontier communities confront in supporting the mental health needs of highly traumatized children and their families.  WRCAC is one of four regional centers funded by the US Department of Justice-Office of Juvenile Justice, Delinquency, and Prevention (OJJDP) to foster an effective multidisciplinary response to child abuse and promote the growth and development of multidisciplinary centers typically referred to as children’s advocacy centers (CACs). CACs are guided by accreditation standards put forth by the National Children’s Alliance (NCA). 

Attendees at the forum included representatives of CACs in rural and frontier communities; state, regional and national partner agencies in the CAC field; experts on mental health treatment; experts in related fields such as policy, technology and licensing; and researchers actively testing innovative models that go beyond traditional in-person therapy with licensed mental health providers. In addition to identifying a number of common challenges the group explored innovative strategies to increase access to effective mental health services and generated a number of action items that have the potential to change the landscape of trauma mental health in rural and frontier communities for the better.

The WRCAC Rural and Frontier Mental Health Forum and the associated search of the professional literature identified four major potential pathways to enhance trauma mental health service delivery in CACs in rural and frontier communities:

  • Recruitment and Retention of Mental Health Providers
  • Telemental Health
  • Task Sharing
  • Task Shifting

This website serves to educate and inform the CAC community about Telemental Health as an option, as it is not widely employed among CACs or within the child maltreatment field.

Members

 

Name

 

Affiliation

 

Title

 

Email

Jordan Benning, MEd

Midwest Regional Children’s Advocacy Center

Program Manager

jordan.benning@childrensmn.org

Lucy Berliner, MSW

University of Washington

Director of Harborview Center for Sexual Assault and Traumatic Stress, Clinical Associate Professor

lucyb@uw.edu

Kim Day, MSW

National Children’s Alliance

Deputy Director

KDay@nca-online.org

Michael de Arellano, PhD

Medical University of South Carolina

Senior Associate Dean for Diversity

dearelma@musc.edu

Anne Denny

Fort Peck Tribes CAC, Red Bird Woman Center

Coordinator

adenny@fortpecktribes.net

Shannon Dorsey, PhD

University of Washington

Associate Professor, Dept. of Psychology

dorsey2@uw.edu

Stephanie Furnival

Iron County Children’s Justice Center

Director

sfurnival@ironcounty.net

Brenda George

Children’s Alliance of Montana

Executive Director

director@childrensalliancemt.org

Jessica Gorrono, LCSW

University of Colorado Boulder

Director of Outreach/ Professional Research Assistant

Jessica.Gorrono@Colorado.edu

Vicky Gwiasda

Western Regional Children’s Advocacy Center

Program Manager

VGwiasda@rchsd.org

Karen Hangartner

Southern Regional Children’s Advocacy Center

Project Director 

khangartner@nationalcac.org

Whitney Harris, LCPC

Bright Tomorrows Children’s Advocacy Center

Financial and Clinical Director

whitney@brightcac.org

Andrea Hazen, PhD

Rady Children’s Hospital

Research Scientist

ahazen@rchsd.org

Dave Jensen, JD

California Association of MFTs

Staff Attorney

djensen@camft.org

Pam Karalunas

Alaska Children’s Alliance

Chapter Coordinator

pkaralunas@gci.net

Salli Kerr

Nevada Outreach Training Organization

Executive Director

sallikerr@nevadaoutreach.org

Al Killen-Harvey, LCSW

Chadwick Center for Children & Families at Rady Children’s Hospital – San Diego

Lead Trainer

akillen-harvey@rchsd.org

Josh Kohrumel

Rady Children’s Hospital- San Diego

Chief Data Officer

jkohrumel@rchsd.org

David J. Kolko, Ph.D., ABPP

University of Pittsburgh School of Medicine

Professor

KolkoDJ@upmc.edu

Cynthia Kuelbs, MD

Rady Children’s Hospital- San Diego

Pediatrician

ckuelbs@rchsd.org

David LaBahn

Association of Prosecuting Attorneys

President

david.labahn@apainc.org

Dana Longenette, MSW

Childhaven, Inc.

Director

danal@childhavennm.org

Jennifer Malone

Southwest Montana Community Health Center

Chief Executive Officer

jmalone@swmtchc.org

Anthony Mannarino, PhD

Center for Traumatic Stress in Children and Adolescents at Allegheny General Hospital

Director

Anthony.mannarino@ahn.org

Elizabeth Ann Miller, PhD

University of Pittsburgh Clinical & Translational Science Fellowship Program

Postdoctoral Fellow

Millerea3@upmc.edu

Michelle Miller, PhD, LCSW

National Children’s Alliance

Coordinator of Mental Health Projects

mmiller@nca-online.org

Chris Moll, LCSW

Hirschfield Center for Children

Director

cmoll@tyfs.org

Molly Molloy, LCSW

Butte Child Evaluation Center and Anaconda Children’s Advocacy Center

Director

mmolloy@swmtchc.org

Laura Murray, PhD

Johns Hopkins School of Public Health

Associate Scientist, Clinical Psychologist

lmurra15@jhu.edu

Chris Newlin, MS LPC

Southern Regional Children’s Advocacy Center

Executive Director

Cnewlin@nationalcac.org

Rosaura Orengo-Aguayo, PhD

Medical University of South Carolina

Assistant Professor

orengoaa@musc.edu

Tamara Principato, LMFT

Western Regional Children’s Advocacy Center

Grant Administrator

TPrincipato@rchsd.org

Edward Redd

Utah Legislature (Retired)

 

TBD

Maegan Rides at the Door

The National Native Children’s Trauma Center

Director

Maegan.Ridesatthedoor@mso.umt.edu

Jennifer Rolls-Reutz, MPH

Chadwick Center for Children & Families at Rady Children’s Hospital- San Diego

Co-Director of the California Evidence-Based Clearinghouse for Child Welfare (CEBC)

jrolls@rchsd.org

Benjamin Saunders, PhD

National Crime Victims Research and Treatment Center

Associate Director

saunders@musc.edu

Shelly Smith, MS

Kids Center

Executive Director

ssmith@kidscenter.org

Teresa Smith, LSW, PhD

Northeast Regional Children’s Advocacy Center

Project Director

teresa@nrcac.org

Suzanne Starling, MD

Chadwick Center for Children & Families at Rady Children’s Hospital- San Diego                  

Medical Director and Associate Program Director                     

SStarling@rchsd.org

Regan Stewart, PhD

Medical University of South Carolina

Assistant Professor

stewartr@musc.edu

Patty Terzian

Western Regional Children’s Advocacy Center

State Liaison

PTerzian@rchsd.org

Anthony Urquiza, PhD

University of California Davis

Director of the CAARE Center

anthony.urquiza@ucdmc.ucdavis.edu  or ajurquiza@ucdavis.edu

Meg Wallace LISW-CP

Medical University of South Carolina

Clinic Coordinator/Therapist

wallam@musc.edu

Christopher Walsh, LMFT

Chadwick Center for Children & Families at Rady Children’s Hospital- San Diego

Director of Clinical Operations

cnwalsh@rchsd.org

Charles Wilson, MSSW

Chadwick Center for Children & Families at Rady Children’s Hospital- San Diego

Senior Director

cwilson@rchsd.org